Day 1 – A Year of Writing

A few years ago I made a promise to myself that I would try to write everyday. Perhaps this was doomed because it was a New Year’s resolution, but I only made it a few months into the challenge before I began to forget to keep up the writing. In an effort to keep a fresh array of writing topics, I used a daily writing prompt some blogger had suggested. These were rarely interesting and engaging. I feel that this may be one of the larger factors which led me to halt my work writing. Another reason may be that the writing was for only private consumption. Only I had access to it, yet it wasn’t a diary or a journal.

In hopes of making my dream of writing everyday a reality, I will do my best to mitigate the issues I’ve identified with my previous attempts. Firstly, this is not a New Year’s resolution and in my mind had already increased its chances of success. I also plan on finding more interesting and fresh topics to write about without having to resort to a prescribed set of writing prompts. Finally -as you, the reader, are well aware- I will make this writing challenge public on a blog. Even though I never expect to have anyone actually read this, the possibility of someone reading blog will keep me honest to them and myself. I promise to do the best I can with this blog, and become more comfortable with writing.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

