Day 3 – A Year of Writing

Today I went to my local pub to get a little bit of work done and enjoy a pint. Disaster struck as I handed back my card in the card machine. The barman dropped the machine which sent paper rocketing across the bar, but also my debit card cracked a little bit. Sadly, I probably cannot use it to get money out of the ATM anymore. Luckily, I’m transferring my pounds into USD very soon anyway, so the account is not nearly as important as it was to me -even- a few weeks ago.

I’m transferring the money because after a year and some months living in London, I’ll be heading back to the shining City of Chicago. This is bittersweet for me. Both Chicago and London are now my homes, when I’m in these cities I’ll always be halfway home, and when I’m in neither I’ll be homeless (potentially quite literally!). However, it will be fantastic to see my family and friends in the Windy City again. I’ll be returning just after the MLB’s world series wraps up. The Chicago Cubs are in it for the first time since 1945. This is passively exciting for a northsider like myself, but terribly exciting for the rest of my family, which have been avid cubs fans since their births and are far more loyal to the team than I’ve ever been.

I’ll be excited to see the skyline, drink Revolution’s Anti-hero, and be miserable in a proper winter. However, I’ll always remember the staff at the Holborn Whippet, the parks that I’ve lived near in Camden Town and South Kensington, and the countless afternoons spent drinking disgusting -but free- coffee in the student common room at UCL’s Anthropology Department. I was in that common room far more than any other place in all of London during my stay.

I have just a week more in this United Kingdom before returning to the United States. Here’s to hoping I get accepted into a PhD Program here, or in Chicago. Though the prospect of finding a 3rd place to call home is nothing short of exhilarating as well.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

