Day 9 – A Year of Writing

I apologize in advance if I don’t have a post tomorrow, as I’m flying 9 hours from London to Chicago. I had to pack today and it was rather stressful. How did I accumulate so much stuff, and how the heck will I fit it within the weight limits of the airlines? It’s hard to pack your life into one checked bag and one carry-on. Luckily, I think I’ve been able to manage it, if not just barely. Though I’ve never relished the stress of travel, I am looking forward to checking my bag, browsing the duty free, and maybe getting a bite to eat while I wait for my gate to be announced

packing up.jpg
How I was able to fit it all into these two bags is beyond me.

One of the first things I’m going to do when I get back to Chicago is eat a slice of proper pizza. I miss the Chicago Style pizzas and can’t wait to leave “Chicago Town” brand frozen pizzas -a popular brand here in London, riding the curtails of the iconic style- behind. I’ll also probably hot dog soon after my landing. We’ll see though. I am terribly excited for reunions with my friends and family. I was not able to go home for the holidays last year, so being in Chicago for Thanksgiving and Christmas will be pretty special for me.

Wish me a good flight! See you soon, Sweet Home Chicago. 

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

