Day 11 – A Year of Writing

Yesterday I went to Walgreens to buy a razor and some shaving cream so I can get rid of the scraggly patches of hair on my face. While I’m physically incapable of growing a substantial beard, what I do grow is rather annoying and scratchy. I was surprised when I looked at the back of the packaging.

razor.jpg
“I find your lack of shaving… Disturbing”

They’ve branded a razor with the upcoming Star Wars movie Rogue One. Now, I do love the Star Wars franchise but this kind of branding leaves me somewhat confused. Why would a razor show a stormtrooper with a helmet on, (s)he could be just as unable to grow a beard as I am! It just seems like a strange place to try and push Star Wars, especially considering that the razor itself has nothing that looks remotely Star Wars-ish.

Today the Chicago River was dyed Cubbie Blue in a similar fashion to how it is dyed green on Saint Patrick’s Day. About five million people were in attendance for the parade and yesterday many workers and students showed up hungover or late to their jobs and classes -though I’m sure the younger students just showed up late, and were not nursing hangovers-. What a time to get back to Chicago.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

