Day 15 – A Year of Writing

Sorry everyone for taking a few days from posting, ever since the election things have been weird for me. Soon after the Brexit style upset of Donald Trump winning the Presidency, I began to worry about all of my friends who were not straight white american males. While I don’t think his presidency will result in global war, progressive America seems to have taken an insanely large hit. Even with Obama in office, our nation had so much more to do to move forward, to move beyond racism and sexism, and to enshrine our progressive values in unalienable rights for our citizens. That feels more distant than before.

But I don’t want this post to only be about the election and Donald. Ever since I’ve been back in the US, I’ve felt very loved by all of my friends and family. So many people made so many plans to hang out and catch up with me. In fact, last night has been the only day since I’ve been back that I haven’t had any plans, and that was by my choice. Tonight my sister has organized a small barcrawl for friends and family to enjoy a few drinks and welcome me back. It should be fun!

After I post this I’ll continue working on my language lessons, help grow the company my friends and I started, finish my coffee, and work on the article I’m attempting to publish about anthropology, social media, and the International Space Station.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

