Day 17 – A Year of Writing

Sometimes it’s very hard to overcome procrastination. Right now I’m feeling the overwhelming weight of having put off a few things. I should be much closer to having a good draft of my article which I’m trying to publish. It feels like other things just get in the way. Admittedly, this is the first day since I’ve been back in the United States that I haven’t had plans made with friends or family so perhaps I should not be too hard on myself. However, I realize that there are things I need to get done, and those deadlines are arriving soon.

Now that I have a phone, I’ll be able to begin applying for jobs. Prior to getting this phone I had a harder time even starting applications for work since virtually all applications required a cell phone number as a contact detail and phone numbers are staples on a complete résumé. I am hoping to stay in Anthropology somehow, obviously I’m looking to apply for my PhD, but I also mean in the professional world. Luckily it seems like companies are seeking out to employ anthropologists more and more as researchers and qualitative data scientists. Again, I’ll be writing an article soon on the merits of employing anthropologists, ethnographers, and other social scientists soon. I’ll also keep all of you abreast to my job hunt and PhD application process.

I also want to give a bit more of an insight into my interests in anthropology. I am a digital anthropologist by training and have worked most recently on social media and the International Space Station. During my time working with those who post on the ISS’s social media accounts and those who consume, share, and propagate the content from those accounts, I learned about just how generative social media can be. Specifically, the generative aesthetics which people make via social media through its expanding nature. When I publish the article version of my dissertation, I will be sure to provide a link to it for my readers here. Also, I would suggest reading this post made by a friend on the reality of things and political climate now. She also is a digital anthropologist interested in Space, though her interest is more in imaging rather than social media.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

