Day 18 – A Year of Writing

Today I received a little bit of discouraging news that has kind of taken the wind out of my sails for Phd applications. I will still apply, but today I just do not feel like doing anything productive in that manner. It is necessary that I power through this, but I’ll give myself the day to reflect a bit today and regroup. A more fleshed out plan is needed for what I want to do, so maybe I can start working on that mentally today.

In other news I still am enamored with my Google Pixel phone. I’ll be writing a review of it and my new cell phone carrier Google’s Project Fi later today and will post them in a few days’ time. All I will say here is that I am extremely satisfied with service and device.

I feel like I’ve already been somewhat productive today. My Duolingo lessons are done, and I’ve worked on the dough.com lessons a bit. For those of you who may not know, dough.com is a way to learn a bit more about investing in the stock market. Dough focuses on a strategy which a bit different from traditional trading. Instead of buying a holding stocks in hopes they go up, Dough looks into the world of options trading as ways of reducing an investor’s costs. It’s really interesting and I may open a brokerage account soon to see how effective this is.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

