Day 33 – A Year of Writing

Today was the first day it snowed in Chicago since I’ve been back! It’s beautiful, but I’m not excited about having to shovel my pavement after the snow lets up. We’re supposed to get about 4 inches (about 10 cm for you non-Americans) before the end of the day, so there will be a fair amount that I’ll need to move out off the sidewalk. I need to reacquaint myself with the Chicago winter, since last year in London the winter was incredibly mild and I only saw a small dusting of snow once.

snow
The view from my room’s window. Snow!

My computer is running really well, though I’ve had to reinstall my Graphics Card’s (GPU) drivers a few times now. I think Nvidia needs to publish an update, because I’ll randomly get a quick freeze and drop of frame rates in games that my GPU should have no problem handling. When I uninstall then reinstall the driver though, it seems to do the trick. Between the computer and hanging out with some friends, I haven’t had a terribly productive weekend. Though I suppose you can count the reading that I do on the bus when I go downtown to hang out with my friends at least somewhat productive. I also guess that you can call getting all of the mail in rebates for the computer parts I bought somewhat productive as well. I can’t wait to get those, I’ll probably just buy amazon credit with them since there will be a few. Just seems like a good way to consolidate those.

I’ve been thinking about starting a youtube channel, but I’ll elaborate on that at a different time. I’d want to plan it out a bit more before I share it with the wider web.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

