Day 35 – A Year of Writing

The word of the day is salient, and the way I’d probably use it in everyday conversation is “standing out” or “prominent.” I hope one day that things I write or work on are salient to some degree or another. Of course, I never expect to enjoy the same notoriety -or salience- as minds like Foucault, Mead, or Malinowski, I do hope to achieve some level of academic success. This, of course, will only be achieve through hard work; something I’ve done little of these past few weeks. Though I should not be too hard on myself, I’ve been applying for jobs and catching up with friends which are time consuming tasks in and of themselves.

The place I’m staying now has very poor heat retention, so I’m rather chilly. We’re just north of freezing here in Chicago right now. I feel so adult -aka boring- because I’m sitting here writing, but I’m also insanely worried that the small space heater I have on in the room will rack up the electricity bill too much. Of course, money is often a worry when you’re between jobs.

I watched a video today about building a backyard foundry. My friends already know that this is a dream of mine. I would love to have a small little forge in the back of my house, just to melt aluminum cans and other scrap metals  and cast these into various shapes. Though I’ve been warned about making aluminum ingots and attempting to bring them to a recycling center. Apparently it’s far more lucrative to leave aluminum cans in their discarded state when bringing them to centers like that. The recycling centers see ingot aluminum as “mixed aluminum” and pay a smaller price per ounce for it. I guess seeing is believing when it comes to the purity of metal content in cans. I think that’d be fun!

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

