Day 38 – A Year of Writing

Today will be a different sort of productive than my daily routine has been in the past few weeks. While I still intend to do Duolingo and such, I have to meet with my sister in the early afternoon to go over getting my healthcare set up in the States. She’s familiar with the paperwork and was willing to help. But this means that the time I usually spend working on job applications and scrounging for PhD opportunities will be off-set. I also plan on seeing a friend of mine play a show at the Cubbie Bear -a bar in Wrigleyville- after that, so from 2 pm today my day can no longer be the usual sort of productive I’ve come to know. This is fine though, as I’m excited to shake up the routine a bit.

It’s snowing a little again today, but this weekend we’re really going to get it. A projected 12 inches of snow is set to fall on Chicago between Saturday and Sunday. While we Chicagoans are used to the cold and the snow, such quantities of it are rather outlandish so early into December. I suppose we’ll just need to deal with it though, like everything else.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

