Day 42 – A Year of Writing

I am so sore. I went to work out with a friend for the first time in about a year last night. She is training for a marathon as well, so my workout was rather intense for just getting back into it. I’ve never felt so out of shape. Going down stairs is the hardest in particular. God damn squats are murder. Luckily, this hopefully is the start of a healthier lifestyle for me. I’m looking to gain some muscle, because I’m a twig right now. I felt pretty pathetic having to take a nap earlier today as well, because I was just so exhausted from the work out last night.

This upcoming Monday I’m going to go to a temp agency in downtown Chicago to try and get some income in the interim. As long as I promise to myself that I won’t get complacent, I’m okay with doing this. Bills will still be bills, and student loans need to be paid so, I’m definitely going try to get some work until I find work more closely related with my degree. I obviously will be applying for PhDs as well. I found one in Berlin that I’m rather interested in applying to: Freie Universität Berlin. The Anthropology Chair there is interested in “cyberanthropology” which is similar to Digital Anthropology (my discipline). I’ll be emailing her this week to start to feel out if she’d be interested in supervising my project. This also means I need to get working on my article in a double time manner. Tomorrow I’ll look for journals in which to publish.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

