Day 47 – A Year of Writing

I hope the holidays are the only reason I’m not hearing back from any of the businesses I’ve applied to, as I know this time of year people are usually on vacation and such. Job hunting is rather discouraging at times. However, I need to stay productive and sharp. I don’t want to fall into a cycle of not being productive because I’m not working or not hearing back from applications. That would just be silly.

 

I’m also still waiting on my Polish Passport to come in the mail. The time that the Consulate said it should be arriving is coming up, so now I’m just waiting eagerly for that package. This is not unlike when I was in need of a phone and waiting for Fedex to deliver my Goolge Pixel. It should be soon, I can’t wait! With that Passport, I’ll be able to live and work in Europe without the need for a visa (which are usually rather tricky to obtain). This also does mean that the moment I get a job, I will purchase Polish language classes to bolster my understanding of the language and augment my current language learning strategy: Duolingo.

 

I’m also working on my coding. Currently, it’s Python that I’m giving the most attention. While I’m still in the very early stages of learning it, I did complete a piglatin translator with it today. I had a lot of fun playing around and learning how to get the code to run correctly. I wish that I had a greater interest in coding when I was younger, but such is life.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropologist, UXer, Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

