Day 54 – A Year of Writing

I know it’s been a few days since I’ve written. Sorry about that, I was at the women’s March on Saturday and my friend had a birthday this weekend. These things took up a lot of my time. Honestly I also was just having a bit of trouble thinking about what to write. My life isn’t that interesting right now, I’m just applying for jobs and working on coding and languages. I’ve widened my job search to jobs that are not only in my field. While I dislike the idea of not putting my Master’s degree to use right away, this keeps large gaps from appearing in my résumé and for whatever reason this is important in the US. I promised myself though that whatever job I do get first, I will never stop thinking about my PhD and will never stop advancing my understanding of my field and discipline.

 

I received a new coin in the mail today. I decided to purchase the 2016 Canadian Silver Maple Leaf BU coin. I had the 2015 one and want to keep the collection going sequentially. I’ll take some nicer photos of my coins soon to post on this site for you guys. In the meantime, here’s a photo of a road barrier made from a repurposed railroad track. I posted it to /r/mildlyinteresting and it didn’t receive much love. Perhaps you guys will like it more.

IMG_20170120_183144.jpg

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

