Day 55 : A Year of Writing

This is the first time I’ve worked in a Starbucks since I’ve been back in the States. I’m always a little concerned with how secure the wifi in places like this are. I did have to accept and connect to get access to the internet, but that doesn’t feel nearly as secure to me as having to enter a password. Either way, I guess I’m here and writing now so, there’s little else to do. I decided that I needed to get out of the house while working on my article today, but have a little time before I’ve scheduled out that part of my day. So why not write a quick post before delving into the terrifying world of article revision and attempting to get published. Whoever thinks academics and professors do nothing are sorely mistaken, this is incredibly had work. I received some feedback from a friend and colleague, so I’m hoping to put some of that to use. She’s far more talented than I am which is slightly intimidating, but like I was once told “to get better at the game, you need to play better opponents.”

 

My other fear working here at Starbucks is that I look like a complete hipster. While I do dabble in the hipster lifestyle, I would not call myself full on. Let’s not forget, I’m here to revise an academic article not work on my unpublished novel. Mind you, I do wear a shemagh but I hastily took it off when I realized the implications.

 

I am trying to think of what I should write a review of next.  A book? A video game? Another cryptocurrency related thing? I’m so unsure but I would love to write a bit more to practice. As you know, if you want to be a better writer you need to write and read more. Currently I’m reading a book called Neighbors, which tells the story of a Polish town in WWII where half of the population killed the other Jewish half. It’s gruesome, but a story that is interesting to read. However, this book is entirely depressing.  

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

