Day 60 – A Year of Writing

I tried to take a quick break from the hectic application and self enrichment processes of my life today. Unfortunately exciting news of my friend’s acceptance into UC Davis for her PhD program set me into near full on freak out. I am really excited for her, but damn does light a fire under my chair. This wasn’t before half the day was already spent in a leisurely manner. I’ll do my best to make this weekend more productive, to make up for not working as hard as I probably should have today.

I went to starbucks again, but chose to begin reading Nothing is True and Everything is Possible, which is a book by Peter Pomerantsev about how Modern Russian media acts as an effective propaganda arm for the Kremlin. It’s a terrifyingly good read. I do hope that this is not a looking glass into the future of the American life. I’m only a few chapters in, but it was hard to put down the book earlier today! It’s nice to do some reading just for fun, even if they are just a bit worrying.

Next Friday I’ll be going to a seminar at U of C to try to keep in academic gear for a little bit. I really miss the world of academia, because I really liked it. In fact, I really miss the buildings of UCL. Pretty old buildings that I can use to read, write, learn, and hang out with friends and colleagues, it was amazing. Anyway, I’ll include some screenshots of Fallout for everyone, as post with photos seem to get a few more views! Enjoy everyone!

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

