Day 61 – A Year of Writing

A friend of mine and myself cooked some great orange chicken from scratch last night. Hopefully that can be successfully submitted as the excuse for my lack of a blog post yesterday. I can confirm, that was a ridiculously tasty dinner. We shared stories and drank some really nice rye whiskey from the Chicago based distillery, Koval. I really enjoy what Koval puts out, but they are rather expensive. It was a really nice gift that he got me a bottle of it. I’ll probably save it for more special occasions with friends.

 

I’m still waiting to hear back from that one job I’ve interviewed for, I’ll email my contact there tomorrow to see if I’ve advanced into whatever next stage they have for the application process. This hasn’t kept me from applying to other places, but I really wouldn’t mind working for that company in New York. I’ll always be a Chicagoan, but I’m kind of in the mood for a change of scenery.

 

The word of the day is “luculent.” This adjective means clear in thought or expression. I strive to be more luculent every day, though this isn’t always easier. For writing, I’ve found that reading more and writing more are the most helpful practices to improving these life skills. I know that seems extremely common sense, but I feel too often we forget that getting better at something requires practice and example.

 

For the rest of today I’ll probably chill out and play videogames while the rest of my country is fixated on the television. Before I rest I’ll probably also complete some job applications. The regular grind returns tomorrow. Monday, here we come.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

