Day 62 – A Year of Writing

Recently I’ve joined a discord chat for Polish speakers learning English and English Speakers learning Polish. I really like the idea that two communities are coming together to be one, in a common interesting in learning more about each other’s language. I feel somewhat guilty partaking in the chat though, because my level of understanding in Polish is far below many of those whose first languages are English. This is not to say that I shy away, but I feel like I am able to contribute less to the discussions and wish I could participate more than I do. I suppose, that this will come with time and practice of the Polish Language. They’re a fun group though, and I thoroughly enjoy signing onto the chat to see how everyone is doing.

 

My fear of not having health insurance (until Medicaid gets back to me) currently got the best of me today. I chose not to go to the gym because I was worried that between jobs and waiting for Medicaid to kick in, if I were to hurt myself in the gym then I would have large problems in the form of medical debt. I feel foolish for not having gone, but I honestly would have done incredibly low weights on the day to ensure I wouldn’t get hurt. At that point I could just do calisthenics in my room, which I may do soon after posting this.

 

I’ll end this post with by pointing out the photo from my friend’s apartment overlooking Lake Michigan which I’ve set as the featured photo. It was cold enough recently that the lake froze over a little in some places, and sheets of ice began to form on the beach close to his house.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

