Day 63 – A Year of Writing

It rained really hard last night. I woke a few times to the room filling with blinding lightning followed by the biblical clap of thunder right overhead. The storm was really close last night I suppose. It was really foggy as well, which makes me think that’s why the lightning seemed so bright. I really enjoy sleeping in the rain, but I kind of wish the thunder and lightning part of it took place a bit earlier in the night so I could appreciate it without having to wake up in a start.

 

Last night’s gloomy weather has continued into today, and has sapped much of my motivation. This sort of day feels like it’s meant for tea, a blanket, and a good book or netflix. It definitely has kept me from working on my academic article, which is unfortunate. Soon after posting this I’ll fire up my computer and work on learning some code. I’m still working on Python which is really rewarding, but is a little frustrating sometimes. Luckily I have a good friend who is more than willing to help me out when I don’t understand why my code isn’t running the way I want it to. One day he’ll grow tired of me sending him screenshots with captions like “What am I doing wrong here?” Until then, I’ll make use of his brain and repay him with beer and discussions on anthropology and cryptocurrencies.

 

I probably stayed up a bit too late last night before I did try to go to sleep. I’ve been playing a lot of Fallout 4 recently, the story is starting to really kick off in my opinion. I won’t spoil anything on this blog, but I think it’s so cool. However, Fallout 3 will always have the best storyline of the Fallout series, plus you get to pretend Liam Neeson is your father and that’s pretty damn cool.

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

