Day 71 – A Year of Writing

This has been one heck of a weekend. Friday night was spent with some of my oldest friends. We hung out and listened to some good music and talked about current politics. One of my friends has rather sharply contrasting views to myself, but we always have really interesting talks. I wish this was the case for everyone who has different opinions from one another. He’s one of my best friends, but we’ll likely never vote for the same person or policy ever. That’s perfectly fine, and I always look forward to hearing his opinions and using them to challenge my own thoughts. I’d like to think that he views my opinions similarly.

 

On Saturday, some friends of mine from undergrad came up to the city and we had a few beers, played Mario Tennis and Rock Band, then we went to a karaoke bar and sang our hearts out. It was a really fun time. Earlier today I met up with a friend and her boyfriend that I was very close within my Department. We got to geek out about anthropology over lunch (I got French Toast), and just catch up since I had not seen her since I left for the UK over a year and a half ago. Tonight, I’m off to play a little bit of pool with another one of my friends. He and I have tried to hang out for literal weeks and something else has always gotten in the way. Then tomorrow I go into my part time gig and start knuckling down on the project they’ll give me. Wish me luck!

Author: Darek Not Derek

Anthropology and Social Media Junkie. Unapologetic Chicagoan.

Leave a Reply

